Case Research Foundation

Helping keep the classroom vital and alive, grounded in the shifting complexities faced by managers around the world

Paul R. Lawrence Fellowships, granted by the CRF, enable doctoral students and early-career faculty members to attend the annual conference of the North American Case Research Association (NACRA) for specialized training in case research, writing, and teaching.

Our 2020 Fellows



Samira Fallah

Samira is in her first year as an assistant professor of management at the University of Mary Washington, where she teaches strategy. She received her undergraduate degree in Industrial Engineering at Amirkabir University of Technology in Iran and her doctorate in management at Louisiana State University. Samira's dissertation research explored how the political ideology of chief executive officers influence their decisions about firms' innovations. She uses cases extensively in her classroom teaching.



Stanley Lim

Stanley is in his second year as an assistant professor of supply chain management at the University of San Diego School of Business. He holds an M.S. in industrial and systems engineering from the National University of Singapore, an M.C.S. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and a doctorate in supply chain management from the University of Cambridge (U.K.). His dissertation used case studies of six companies to build theory on how retailers can configure their last-mile supply networks to best serve e-commerce customers. Stanley is currently developing a series of mini cases for use in his own classroom.



Adeniyi Olarewaju

Adeniyi is an assistant professor of international business at the School of Business, Tecnologico de Monterrey (Mexico). He holds a doctorate in management from the University of Lagos in Nigeria. A case on a Nigerian family business seeking to internationalize that he authored as a graduate student was selected as the best case in the Africa business category in the European Foundation for Management Development case writing competition. Adeniyi, who uses cases extensively in his teaching, is especially interested in developing rubrics to assess student performance in case analysis.



Aditee Prabhakar

Aditee, who is a practicing architect and city planner, is currently completing her doctorate in city planning at the Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur. For the past year, she has been a visiting research fellow at Narxoz University in Kazakhstan, where she has been mentored as a case writer and teacher by Dr. Anjan Ghosh, founder of the Silk Road Case Centre and a former recipient of a Paul R. Lawrence Fellowship. Aditee's research interests focus broadly on strategic city planning, and how culture has impacted the development of post-Soviet cities in Central Asia.

Providing support remotely

This year, the work of the Case Research Foundation, like that of so many other organizations, has been upended by the global COVID-19 pandemic. The outbreak of COVID greatly reduced the number of fellowship applications we received in April, presumably because prospective applicants were reluctant to commit to travel.

We received 39 completed applications (18 doctoral students; 21 early-career faculty) from 11 countries. We awarded four Paul R. Lawrence Fellowships for 2020, the same acceptance rate as in prior years.

When the NACRA board made the decision to hold the 2020 conference remotely, we invited this year's Fellows to attend online with all fees paid and as well as to attend the 2021 conference in person, with a full grant for travel and expenses, if we can hold one at that time.

We hope to host an expanded cohort of Fellows at the 2021 conference in Orlando, Florida.

By bringing in talented early-career scholars from around the world, our fellowship program helps promote the development of outstanding cases that will be relevant to the experience of students from many cultures.

-Anne Lawrence, Chair of the Board

Spotlight on PRL Fellow Alumna



Cle-Anne Gabriel ('18)

Cle-Anne, a tenured senior lecturer (teaching and research) in strategy and sustainability at the University of Queensland Business School in Australia and a PRL Fellow in 2018, was elected to the position of program-chair elect at NACRA, with responsibility for the 2022 conference. She will become president of NACRA in 2023. Cle-Anne is a specialist in sustainable development and a senior fellow of the Higher Education Academy. She is known for her pedagogical innovations, mostly recently for developing strategies for synchronous online and hybrid case teaching and learning under COVID.

Our Financials

Our administrative costs

Our board of directors, faculty mentors, and committee members volunteer their time. We receive in-kind donations from the North American Case Research Association and other friends. Our administrative costs support website development, fellowship marketing, and management of the selection process.



Adding value throughout the year

With NACRA and our institutional sponsors, the Case Research Foundation has worked to provide professional development opportunities to members and former fellows throughout the year—not just during the conference.

Recent and planned webinar topics have included

- Writing cases remotely practical tips
- Emotional resilience for case writers
- Conversation with a prize-winning case author

Thanks to

Board of Directors

Anne T. Lawrence Aundrea Kay Guess Allan R. Cohen

100% board giving

Michael M. Goldman Maria Ballesteros-Sola Anjan Ghosh

100% bourd giving

Faculty Mentors

Maria Ballesteros-Sola Karen Boroff Thomas Buckles Sergio Canavati Eric Dolansky Josep Franch Armand Gilinsky Janis Gogan Michael Goldman Mahendra Gujarati Cynthia Ingols Joe Kavanaugh Christine Kratz Pascale Lapointe

Anne Lawrence

John Lawrence
Joan Ramon Mallart
Rebecca Morris
Vi Narapareddy
Margaret Naumes
Susan Peters
Marlene Reed
Woody Richardson
Karin Schnarr
Jeff Shay
Susan Sieloff
Vishwanath SR
Ram Subramanian
Marilyn Taylor
William Wei

Donors

Ogechi Adeola Mrityunjay Athreya Sherwood F Bain Maria Ballesteros-Sola James Biteman Denise Breckon Lew Brown Michael Burawoy James Carroll Christopher Cassidy Bala Chakravarthy Caleb Chen Danielle Clark Allan and Joyce Cohen Clifford E. Darden Nancy Dearman and John Kotter **Robert Eccles** Timothy Edlund Nada Elnaha Deborah Ettington and Thomas Burean

Lisa Facey-Shaw Victor A Faux Cle-Anne Gabriel Michael Goldman Aundrea Kay Guess Monika Gupta Takahiro Fuiimoto Ankan Ghosh Janis Gogan and Ashok Rao Ranjay Gulati Randall Harris Matthew Hollow Cynthia Ingols and Steven J. Spitz Joshin John Shahir Kassam-Adams Harvey Kolodny Kerryn Krige Harry W. Lane Mitchell Langbert Anne T. Lawrence

Jay W. Lorsch Michael McCaskey Terry McGovern Jeff Paul Aravind Reghunathan Mark P. Rice Lynne and Woody Richardson Satyam Kathryn Savage Nermeen Shehata Karin Schnarr Melvin and Linda Stanford Linda Swayne Marilyn and Robert Taylor Paul Thompson Michael L. Tushman and Marjorie Williams Charalambos Vlachoutsicos

Meredith Woodwark Jan Zahrly

Michael F Welsh

We thank the following organizations for their generous sponsorship



William S. (Tad) Lawrence





Case Research Foundation